Tags

, , , ,

My sister and I are enjoying a short vacation at Disney World. I took my camera along just in case. After fighting the crowds at Thunder Mountain, Splash Mountain and the Jungle Cruise, we found a quiet spot with a bench – well, relatively quiet, anyway – to get a brief respite from the throngs. Suddenly a smallish, sleek hawk flew into a thicket a few feet from our bench. It then flew up into a perch overlooking a small creek, and posed for well over a half hour.

12 26 13 Magic Kingdom 032

A gentleman who also saw the hawk identified it as a juvenile Red-Tailed Hawk. That didn’t seem quite right to me. The hawk’s tail was just about as long as it’s body, and it was rounded. I’m more inclined to say a juvenile Cooper’s Hawk, but I haven’t spent a lot of time identifying hawks. Any input, anyone?

12 26 13 Magic Kingdom 044